Skip to main content

More resources at your finger tips,

Join Now!

Learn More

PO Box 1785
Schenectady, NY 12301

Background Image URL //

Welcome to the New York State Floodplain and Stormwater Managers Association

Founded in 2000, NYSFSMA brings together New York State professionals to foster awareness, information exchange and cooperation in the floodplain and stormwater management fields.

We are a state chapter of ASFPM - View Link

2020 NYSFsMA Members by Industry

2020 NYSFsMA Members by Industry Graph
  • Private Industry
    157 Members
  • Federal Government
    3 Members
  • Watershed or County Agencies
    65 Members
  • Non Profit and Academia
    11 Members
  • NYS Communities and Tribes
    219 Members
  • State Agency
    32 Members
  • Other
    1 Member
as of January 2020

2020 nysfsma members by region


NYS DEC REGIONS 1- 9 graph
NYS DEC REGIONS Breakdown of members in a chart

  • Region 1: (Long Island)Nassau and Suffolk counties
  • Region 2: (New York City)Brooklyn, Bronx, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island
  • Region 3: (Lower Hudson Valley)Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester counties
  • Region 4: (Capital Region/Northern Catskills)Albany, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady, and Schoharie counties
  • Region 5: (Eastern Adirondacks/Lake Champlain)Franklin, Clinton, Hamilton, Essex, Warren, Fulton, Saratoga, and Washington counties
  • Region 6: (Western Adirondacks/Eastern Lake Ontario)Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, and St. Lawrence counties
  • Region 7: (Central New York)Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego, Tioga, and Tompkins counties
  • Region 8: (Western Finger Lakes)Chemung, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, and Yates counties
  • Region 9: (Western New York)Allegany, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Erie, Niagara, and Wyoming counties

Board Members


Shaun Gannon 

Region 4 Director

Brad Wenskoski, CFM


Vice Chair

Brent W. Gotsch

Region 5 Director




Laura B. Robertson

Region 6 Director

Mary Binder, CFM


Paul Guillet, P.E.

Region 7 Director



Region 1 Director

Douglas Groth


Region 8 Director

John T. Caterino, CFM

Region 2 Director

Curtis Smith, CFM

Region 9 Director

Rosaleen Nogle, PE, BCEE, CFM

Region 3 Director

Aaron Bennett, CFM

Committees & Chairs

Community Rating System (CRS) Committee

Janet Thigpen, CFM and John Gauthier, PE, CFM (Co-Chairs)Committee Objectives: Help communities improve CRS ratings; encourage new communities to participate in CRS.

Conference Committee

William Nechamen, CFM and Russell Houck, CFM (Co-Chairs) Committee Objectives: Plan & develop necessary budget for annual conference; Plan & develop necessary budget for technical seminars; Arrange hotel space, meeting rooms, entertainment, speakers, exhibit areas, and conference materials; Coordinate with Executive Director and Finance Committee for budget and implementation; Review proposed conference contracts prior to signature by Executive Director, President or Vice President.

Stormwater Committee

Ricardo Lopez-Torrijos (Chair) Committee Objectives: Tracks development in the legislative, regulatory training and management areas that impact the NYS stormwater professional, identifying needs, to then develop positions and advocate for resources that NYSFSMA can advance through its advocacy and education efforts.

Newsletter Committee

Shaun Gannon (Chair) Committee Objectives: Develop a quarterly newsletter to be sent to members; Organize & prepare articles for printing or electronic distribution; Obtain necessary photos, clipart, and ideas for content; Coordinate with the Regional Directors to obtain articles.

Outreach & Education Committee

Kristen Hychka and Stevie Adams, CFM (Co-Chairs) Committee Objectives: Provide opportunities for members to raise awareness about flood risk and mitigation of flood risk; Develop and coordinate a consistent and comprehensive training curriculum; Develop a training delivery system for members; Develop outreach via multimedia communication systems for our members and other organizations; Develop and implement an effective risk communication plan.

Public Policy Committee

Janet Thigpen, CFM and Bill Nechamen, CFM (Co-Chairs) Committee Objectives: Track legislation; Track activities affecting State and Federal policy; Report issues to Board for decisions on how to participate; Provide representative input to State and Federal Officials.

Website Committee

Ricardo Lopez-Torrijos (Chair) Committee Objectives: Plan and develop annual budget for website services; Coordinate all activities related to website; Review and approve invoices for Treasurer to pay; Coordinate technical issues with website. 

Bylaws and Articles of Incorporation

The NYSFSMA Bylaws are available to members by clicking the link below.



Association DocumentS

Meeting Minutes

Budget 2021 - 
View PDF

November 18, 2020 - View PDF
November 12, 2020 - 
View PDF
October 15, 2020 - 
View PDF
September 17, 2020 - 
View PDF
August 20, 2020 - 
View PDF
July 16, 2020 - 
View PDF
June 18, 2020 - 
View PDF
May 14, 2020 - 
View PDF
April 9, 2020 - 
View PDF
March 13, 2020 - 
View PDF
March 12, 2020 - 
View PDF
February 13, 2020 - 
View PDF
January 9, 2020 - 
View PDF
 7, 2019 - View PDF